Clinical Immunology Committee - BSACI

Clinical Immunology Committee

Clinical Immunologists in the UK see a large number of allergy patients and a published audit has shown that clinical immunologists throughout the UK contribute significantly to the unmet allergy needs highlighted by the Royal College of Physicians report ‘Allergy the Unmet Need’. In many UK cities, Clinical Immunologists take the leading role in running ‘allergy centres’ and providing specialist services including desensitisation.

However, Clinical Immunologists are required to divide their time between allergy, and immunodeficiency, autoimmunity/vasculitis. The idea of a Clinical Immunology sub-committee of the BSACI was initiated from discussions within the BSACI in 2006. The aim was to develop two-way communication between Clinical Immunologists (and their nursing colleagues) and allergists.

Dr Joe Unsworth was the founding chair and the first meeting took place in January 2007. Three meetings annually are planned (1 full meeting and 2 telephone conferences). The committee focuses on allergy and the immunology/allergy interface. The members are involved in BSACI practice guidelines, registration/accreditation issues, laboratory issues and help with the programme at the BSACI annual meetings.

The committee comprises of:

Dr Tomaz Garcez (Chair)

Dr Robert Yellon (Trainee rep)

Dr Sarah Johnston

Dr Lucy Leeman

Dr Sorena Kiani 

Dr Colin Dayan (Co-opted, Chair of BSI Clinical Committee)

Committee Governance 

BSACI Terms of Reference (ToR) define the purpose and structure of each BSACI committee. It outlines how we appoint committee members and chairs of which a job description for the chair is below.

Decorative image

Clinical Immunology Committee Terms of Reference

Decorative image

Clinical Immunology Chair Job Description

Committee Members declarations of interests are available on request.


Project Manager for National Allergy Strategy

Read more