Standards of Care Committee

In 2004 BSACI created the Standards of Care Committee (SOCC) to develop accredited guidelines for use in secondary care by both adult and paediatric allergists. SOCC leads on national allergy audits and oversees the production of all non-guideline documentation to ensure conformity and consistency to the highest clinical standards with other resources BSACI develops.

The committee currently consists of adult allergy specialists, paediatric allergists, immunologists, dietitians, nurses, primary care specialists and is supported by Ms Erinn Gallagher, the BSACI Clinical Guidelines Research Officer. The SOCC guideline writing process is accredited by NICE and includes patient representation throughout the process. SOCC also supports the development of allergy guidelines for primary care and translation of the secondary care guidelines into primary care.

The committee’s chair is Dr David Luyt.

Should you wish to send SOCC a proposal, please complete the council proposal form. Please send this in the first instance to 



Committee Governance 

BSACI Terms of Reference (ToR) define the purpose and structure of each BSACI committee. It outlines how we appoint committee members and chairs of which a job description for the chair is below.

Committee Members declarations of interests are available on request.