Clinical Impact Awards 2022

The Clinical Excellence Awards are now known as the Clinical Impact AwardsThe award round for 2022 has now closed.

Clinical Impact Awards are given by the Government’s Advisory Committee to recognise and reward the exceptional contribution of NHS consultants, over and above what is normally expected in their job, to the values and goals of the NHS and to patient care.

The awards are co-ordinated and awarded by the Advisory Committee on Clinical Impact Awards (ACCIA), sponsored by the Department of Health and Social Care.

As the national process has changed significantly you should read the detailed guidance notes which outlines the process for seeking support from NNOs. 

Who can apply for an award?

The Advisory Committee on Clinical Impact Awards (ACCIA) will accept applications for national awards from consultants and Academic GP’s working for the NHS in England and Wales. ACCIA no longer renews awards, all awards going forward will be classified as new. Awards will be held for 5 years, after which time a further new award can be applied for.

What has changed in 2022 round?

The changes introduced to this year’s application process ensured a more inclusive and accessible scheme. The key changes were as follows

Increase the number of available awards

Once the transition process for existing national CEA award holders has completed over the 5-year transitional period, there will be up to 600 awards granted annually in England. National awards and local awards are also planned to be held concurrently – this is being reviewed throughout the transition period.

Re-brand the scheme

The awards have been re-branded as the national Clinical Impact Awards to reflect to applicants and scorers that the primary focus of the awards is the output of activities, rather than undertaking activities in the absence of describing their impact and results.

Re-structure the award levels

In England, the scheme now operates as a three-level award system: national 1 (lowest), national 2 and national 3 (highest).

Refresh the assessment domains

The assessment domains have been revised to combine both Delivering and Developing Service into a single new domain (domain 1). Three domains (domains 2, 3 and 4) have been renumbered and their emphases amended and a new fifth domain has been introduced to allow applicants to include evidence of national impact from other unpaid activities, or where they have delivered impact over and above expectations.

Simplify the application process

A single level application process has been introduced so applicants no longer apply for an award at a specific level. This enables applicants to gain higher level awards on first application based on the score they attain.

Remove pro-rated awards

Those working less than full time (LTFT) will no longer have their post 2022 award payments pro-rated.

Remove the renewals process

The renewals process has been removed. National Clinical Impact Awards will be held for a total of 5 years, at which point applicants need to re-apply.

Remove the pensionability of awards

National Clinical Impact Awards are no longer pensionable or consolidated.

Simplify the process for employers

Employers only need to indicate their support or their lack of support for an application and provide a citation for each applicant. Employer scoring and ranking are no longer required.

Please see below the Scoring process and Sheets. 


BSACI Global Allergy Online Symposium 2023

Read more